Books I Must Read Before The End of the Year // exposing myself for not reading your favorites

Hello, friends. 😌 It’s been a while. Have you figured out your TBR for the rest of the year? 

That’s a really strange thing to say. The rest of the year? We’re almost at the end of 2020? Impossible.  

But alas. We are here in the middle of October. 

I’m not entirely sure if I will have time to read all of these by December, but I can certainly dream. 


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Okay, I’m starting off strong. 

It’s true. I haven’t read SoC and it absolutely haunts my nightmares. I’m sorry, okay! I just have to read the Grisha series first! More on that later. 

If you asked me about Six of Crows, all I could tell you is a) Kaz is mean and well-dressed, in a good way b) there is a character named Inej. That’s it. 

(Also, one of my irl non-reader friends is currently reading it, and I simply cannot handle the shame any longer.)

The Poppy War by R.F. Kuang

Everyone tells me I need to read this series, and I definitely agree with them. However, I know there are also a lot of trigger warnings for it, so I’m not sure if I’m quite ready to read it at this moment in time. 

The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

I have been “reading” this book since March! And by “reading”, I mean I’ve been listening to the audiobook in 15 minute increments once a month until I have to return it to the library again.

I really started reading The Bone Witch at the wrong time. I mostly enjoyed it, but having to move off campus in March and then falling into a huge reading slump took me away from it, and now I just don’t have the motivation (or memory) to pick it up again. But I will!

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

How long have I owned this book? It may or may not be 6 months. 

I’m going to read this as a buddy read with Ruby, but neither of us ever have time so 😅 we’ll see when this actually happens. And it will happen! Just not yet. Eventually, though. 

Incendiary by Zoraida Córdova

I bought this a few months ago and I have been dying to read it! 

And that’s it, that’s the only explanation. 😌 I’m actually on page 40 right now, so I should probably continue it soon. 

Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman

I have this book now and, I mostly want to read it to get away from all of these fantasy books. I love fantasy, but sometimes you just need a relatable contemporary, you know? 

I’ve been interested in this one for a while, and I think I might be able to relate to the main character a lot. I also got it for my birthday, and the cover is even more pretty in person!

Darius The Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

I know so many people who have listed this as one of their favorite books, and I have to say, that sounds really good to me. 

For this one, I’m not very sure if I’ll actually read it this year, since I already have so many physical books on my TBR and I don’t own this one already, but a girl can try. 

The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi

I have owned this book for almost two years! And I have only read the first chapter! 

Also, there is a sequel out now! I swear, nothing makes me want to read a book more than finding out it’s part of a series. 

Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

Again, this book is part of a series! I’ve heard nothing but praise for the wording building and characters! It’s inspired by West African mythology! What else could I possibly ask for? 

I own this one, too, and I am ready to be swept away. 

Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Okay. Hear me out. 

Everyone I know, here and in real life, tells me that I don’t need to read this series before I read Six of Crows. Yes, I know! I don’t need to finish the Grisha series! 

But I must read it because I bought it like two years ago. If I don’t read this series, it will just stay in the corner of my room, staring at me, inducing more book-buyer’s guilt than I ever asked for.  

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

I’ve heard so many good things about this one, lately! I’m really excited to get to it soon. I also got this one for my birthday, and the whole book is indeed beautiful.

How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories by Holly Black

Listen. 

Last year, when The Queen of Nothing was released, I absolutely devoured it in under 48 hours. This is extremely rare for me, and I heavily associate that kind of binge-reading with the warm memories of my bygone youth.
(i’m not old, i just like to pretend that i am)

Does this mean I loved The Queen of Nothing? Not really. It had its flaws, but mostly, I just had an insane amount of fun while reading it. *shrug* And that’s the kind of feeling I want for when I read this novella. 

Untitled design-51.png
netflix and books-33

Have you read any of these books? What books are still on your 2020 TBR? Are there any end-of-the-year releases you’re waiting for?  

Chat with me about it!


You can also be my friend on social media!

Happy reading! Have a lovely day! Please stay safe!

Starry Sky Books-13

42 thoughts on “Books I Must Read Before The End of the Year // exposing myself for not reading your favorites

  1. I haven’t read Six of Crows either! I’m so glad I finally met another person who hasn’t read it yet. I’ve read The Poppy War, and yes, there are a lot of trigger warnings for it, so read it when you’re ready. Ahhhh you have to read With the Fire on High. It’s so good and it’s about food. FOOD! Anyways, I loved this list, and I hope you get to read all of them soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg you’re not alone in not having read Six of Crows!! I made myself read the entire Grisha trilogy to prepare myself and now I have the duology sitting on my shelf… so I NEED to get to it before the end of the year!!!! And I haven’t read a single negative review for Raybearer as of now, so that one is another priority item! But honestly my priority list has lost the meaning behind its existence because I am just that bad at sticking to it 😅 But yes — good luck to us all with our reading goals! Lovely post, Xandra 💖

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I forced myself to read the Grisha trilogy before Six of Crows too for the same reason, and I kind of regret it because I wasn’t enjoying them. I also have been postponning The Gilded Wolves for far toooo long. There’s also a lot of books in here I should read but I’ll ignore it for the sake of my guilt. I did read and enjoy some of them like The poppy war, Vicious and With the fire on high and I highly recommend them.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. There’s lots on here I need to get to too! Vicious and The Poppy War are great, but definitely don’t feel pressured to read The Poppy War because some scenes are v hard hitting. I’m reading Crooked Kingdom right now and I’m loving it!

    Like

  5. Six of Crows, Gilded Wolves, and Summer Bird Blue are so good ahhh I hope you enjoy ❤ And asklfjslf I'm dYING to read the Cardan novella!! I'm just trash for that series okay absolute trash so ima read this and be happy no matter what haha. Also I haven't read The Poppy War either and tbh am not planning on reading it any time soon with the way my year is going because of the triggers so it's nice to know I'm not the only one lmao. I hope you enjoy it when you're ready for it tho ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I also really want to pick up The Poppy War as soon as possible! Everyone has been raving about it and I can’t wait to have my heart torn out by it. Omg you should totally pick up Vicious! It’s one of my all-time favorites, and I hope you’ll love it as well. Maybe we can get your reactions while reading it? That’d be amazing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooh, you’ve a lot to catch up on. Sadly, I haven’t got copies of any of these. All of these books have been highly praised by the book community. Hope that you love them as well. 🙂

    Like

  8. I see a lot of my favourites on your list and can’t wait for you to read them! 😀 And I feel you. It feels like 2020 went by so fast but at the same time it was such a slow year. *lol* Makes no sense, right? “The Poppy War” was really good but I still haven’t picked up the second book because the first one emotionally drained me. All those trigger warnings are there for a good reason. I was supposed to read the second book this year but I think I might just wait until next one. XD You definitely have to be in the right mindset to tackle this series.

    Like

  9. Listen, the book community moves too fast from book to book and I CAN’T KEEP UP. While I’ve read some from this list, most are unread for me too, and there are so many more books that I have to “catch up with.” At this point, I’m just reading romances to make myself happy haha. Also I’m working on a couple readathons, so reading hyped books is not very high on my list (this is my excuse for ignoring Black Sun right now)

    Like

  10. I haven’t read the rest of the post yet but PLEASE read Six of Crows!! I only read it earlier this year and I wish I read it sooner because it was incredible. The duology has so much hype so I was nervous to read it but they’ve become two of my favourite books ever (so well worth it).

    Like

  11. Raybearer & The Gilded Wolves are on my tbr too and I can’t wait to get to them! Both seem great and have been rated highly by some of my faves in the book community so I’m hopeful that I’ll love them! With The Fire On High was really good – such a lovely read and I enjoyed all the food references.
    Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll enjoy The Poppy War so I won’t read that one. It does have some amazing reviews but for me it would be way to intense with all of the triggers. Definitely one people need to do research before going into it so they’re aware of the content!

    Like

Leave a comment