The Blogger Recognition Award

I was nominated for my first blog award! 😊

I know it’s a little late, but I was nominated by Hamad from The Book Prescription back in November. Thank you so much for nominating me, Hamad! 😀 If you’re not already following The Book Prescription, you really should – he has so many great reviews and other bookish posts! (He’s also really nice, and one of the first real bloggers who followed my blog 🙂 )


blogger-recognition-award-three.jpg

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger that nominated you (Thanks again, Hamad!)
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

Screenshot 2019-01-21 18.16.24.png

My Origin Story

A few days after my birthday back in September 2018, I was sitting alone in my University dorm room late at night.

I was bored, I had just finished Truly Devious, and I suddenly felt the urge to read more than I ever had in years….

I know that sounds a bit dramatic, but I honestly sat straight up and said, “Okay, I’m going to start a blog!” And then I did! 😀 

Anna Kendrick Typing GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Originally, by blog was called The Book Blog Battle, but I changed the name because it just didn’t feel right. I mean, sure, it’s hard to start a book blog (or any kind of blog), but I wanted something that would help me stand out and give my blog a more unique feeling. And thus, Starry Sky Books was born in December!

screenshot 2019-01-21 18.16.24

My Advice

1: Don’t be afraid to try new things.

When I first started out, I was told to look at other bloggers and get inspiration from them. Of course, this is still a great idea! If you’re a new blogger, I encourage you to try all sorts of things: you can post reviews, lists of your favorite books, a post about bookish items, book tags… you name it! But have fun when you’re first starting out, and don’t get too upset if it doesn’t always go your way. 

Sometimes you’ll write a great post, but only 5 people will see it. And that’s okay! At least you now have the experience, and you tried! 

Also, don’t be afraid to stop doing certain things, either. A lot of the first bloggers I followed were doing weekly tags like “Top 10 Tuesday” and “WWW Wednesday”, and I felt like I had to do the same types of posts to gain attention. While this may be the case, doing those types of posts also took away time which I could have been using to write better reviews or more original posts. Do whatever works for you! 

2: Find out what YOU like to do the most, and continue blogging from there. 

This one kind of goes along with my first advice, but I suggest you find out what kinds of posts you enjoy writing the most and continue with that! 

For example, you might find that you really like doing discussions – in that case, you should continue writing discussion posts and grow from that experience! Whichever kinds of posts you’re going to be writing, I think it’s better to work on whichever suits you or your blog best. That way, you can develop your skills in the types of posts you love, rather than spreading your time among other types of posts which don’t use all of your creativity and love. 

I Tag…

✨ Miri @ The Book Dragoness

✨ Margaret @ Weird Zeal 

✨ Rhi @ Marshmallow Harmonies

✨ Kelly @ Struggling Bookaholic

✨ Brianna @ Brianna the Bookworm

✨ LaRonda @ FlyingPaperbacks 

screenshot 2019-01-21 18.16.24

You can also be my friend on Goodreads! 📚

Happy reading, everyone! 😀

Starry Sky Books-13

16 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Aww thanks so much for nominating me! ❤ I fully support all of your advice. It's easy to see what other people are doing and think that's what you HAVE to do, but it's so much more fun to focus on what you like doing instead! Having fun is number one! (ooh that rhymed)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness thank you so much Xandra!! I feel so honored. And YES I agree so much with your advice! Do what you enjoy most 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awh, thank you so much for the tag Xandra! I love your advice! It really is so important to focus on posts you enjoy writing 🙂 congrats on this award – it’s so well deserved💞

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m sorry I’m getting commenting on this so late (January was such a hectic month), but thank you SO much for the tag 💕It means a lot to me! Also, your advice is wonderful! You made some really important points 🙂 I’m looking forward to thinking of advice for my post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment