My June 24-Hour Readathon! // Day 1, Part 1

Hello hello, and welcome back to another episode of “Xandra just doesn’t know when to stop signing herself up for readathons”! I am your host, Xandra, and this summer… I’m doing another 24-Hour Readathon. And then another. 

As I mentioned a few times in the past couple of weeks, today is the first day of my Summer Readathons.

Hopefully… I will be able to read as much as possible, but we shall see if that actually happens.


MORNING: 

Photo Jun 04, 10 05 07 AM

5:00am – Okay, time to start on page 90 of Tithe by Holly Black! 

I’m not really sure why I woke up at 5am, but I tried to get as much sleep as I could.

But let’s get started! We have a long day ahead of us.

5:29am – Page 110 – You guys. I found a typo! 😂

Photo Jun 13, 12 22 57 AM.jpg

5:40am  Snack time! 

6:10am 

Page 123: A POV from Roiben? Nice. 

Page 126: Wow, that was angsty. 

Page 132: Oh no, poor Corny. 

7:20-8:00am – I took a break to pet my dog… 

which turned into me eating breakfast and eventually chatting with my parents before they went off to work. 

8:45-9:05am  *sigh* I got distracted by Goodreads 😂

9:07am – A VERY LARGE BUG just crawled out of nowhere, but I’m not wearing my glasses and I don’t know what to do. 

Send help. 

9:09am – The bug is gone because I lost it, but I am prepared to squash it if need be. 

Okay, back to reading. 

Photo Jun 12, 11 46 41 PM.jpg

9:30am – Someone PLEASE take away my phone! I keep reading book reviews instead! 😫

Page 190: I’m so confused. Rescue me from 2002 Holly Black, please. 

Page 195: When Roiben was found chatting with Kaye’s mom, I nearly spit out my coffee 😂

Page 197: Roiben will eat every drop of honey you have if you let him into your house, spread the word. 

11:25am – I was almost done with Tithe, but I decided to stretch my legs a bit and listen to some of Hunting Prince Dracula while doing some exercises!
(Not before getting distracted again, of course, haha.)

12:30-2:00pm– I decided to eat lunch with my family!

However… I’m still not very far on the Readathon! 😅 I really need to get everything together. I told myself I would actually read this time!

2:32pm – Again, listening to HPD while exercising, but I promise I will finish Tithe today! I am determined.

Untitled design-51.png

I haven’t been awake for very long, so there’s still so much more for me to read! Hopefully I can sit down and really read without falling into a trap of doing other things!

Well, that’s all for now! I will post my next update whenever I get the chance! 😀

Starry Sky Books-13

26 thoughts on “My June 24-Hour Readathon! // Day 1, Part 1

  1. I’m impressed by your dedication to wake up early! Wish I could have joined in with this, but alas, I was working all day 😦 Still, looks like a fairly good start, despite some distractions 😉 (which I think are totally valid. Who wouldn’t get distracted by goodreads reviews??)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – I’m someone who loves to sleep as much as possible, but perhaps I love reading a bit more! 😂 That’s okay, maybe you can do a readathon one day soon. 🙂 I basically get distracted by everything, but reviews are some of the best distractions!

      Like

  2. I liked this post – it was kinda chill & informal (and also pretty funny – show me the bug, I will kill it for you *she says when really she knows she’d run away screaming*)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so surprised by how big the modern fairy tales was when I saw it 😂 I love how you have documented this– so fun. I would love to try to do a 24 hour readathon one day!! 😂 and getting up at 5am is impressive– I probably wouldn’t be able to do that!! 😂 I would get distracted though– I love that you took a break to pet your dog!! ❤
    Great post!! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Modern Faerie Tales is so big because it’s three books in one! 😂 But my family was still very surprised when they saw it, too. You should totally do a readathon one day! I wake up at 5am because I know starting at 12am is too much for me! 😂 And thank you, Sophie!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Omg, the bug had me scared for you. I think losing it is the hardest part because when will it appear again??? But I loved reading your update for the first part of the day (since I went backwards somehow).

    (I also somehow wasn’t following you?? I know I was, but I had this issue the other day too where I was somehow unfollowed from another person too. SO weird. I hopefully have it fixed now. D:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, I hate it when I can’t see the bug anymore. Maybe that’s worse than just finding it somewhere and killing it? Oh well.

      (And don’t worry – I know you were following me at one point, because you were one of the first bloggers to follow and comment on my posts! 💕)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hahaha what an entertaining post! It seems you needed quite a bit of rescuing here. 😂

    I’d love to try and attempt one of these 24-hour readathons btw. (Like, don’t people end up passing out trying to stay up for so long? <<legit question) It sounds super fun though, trying to bulldoze through as many books as possible. Also kudos, listening to audiobooks while exercising is a clever strategy to stay active and not waste time. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thank you! And yes, I did need rescuing, but everything is fine now, thanks.

      If you want to try a 24-hour readathon, let me know! Maybe I’ll join you! And you should have read about the first time I did this – I only stayed awake for about 20 hours, and I was practically falling asleep on my book. 😂 But now I’m better at staying awake! I think it just takes practice. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment